A Bouncing Birthday Invite

On a cold day in January at 3:44pm we were handed the best gift we ever could receive in the form of this 7lb 4oz bundle of pink squirmy love.

That was almost 5 years ago and boy how things have changed.

Our first baby has grown into such a sweet, polite, smart, and caring little girl. I couldn’t be more proud of her.

So, now with her birthday less than 2 weeks away, I’m in full on party planning mode. And having a birthday in January kinda limits what we can do. The past 4 years we’ve just held it at home with mostly family attending. But this year, we’re planning a big party with all her friends and family at an indoor bounce house place. To get the word out about our bouncing birthday bash, I designed and printed these super cute invitations for her to hand out to all her classmates. She was so excited to take them to school today. I think she told me 5 times not to forget her invitations.

The little girl is from a stock illustration that I purchased from istockphoto, my go to place for inexpensive, royalty free photos and illustrations. I tweaked it a bit to match the birthday girl’s hair color and personality, and then layered it with a couple of bouncy cloud shapes and star bursts just for fun.

I think designing invitations is probably my favorite part of graphic design. They are the first thing your guests will see and they really help set the tone of the event. I just love trying to capture the vibe of a party on a printed invitation.

And just in case anyone was wondering, I’d love to help you with an invitation design for your next party! Birthday parties, anniversaries, weddings, bridal or baby showers… just let me know if you’re interested by dropping me a line at craftdrunk@gmail.com. I promise I’ll give you a great deal and an invitation that is truly unique to your special event.

Leave a Reply

