Happy 2012, y’all!

Wow. Really? 2012? Already? Did someone speed up the clock? Am I in some sort of crazy fast forward mode? Jeebus, the time just flies by.

And since there’s not really much I can do about it (except keep getting older), I decided no resolutions for this year. Instead I’ve made a list of goals that I’d like to accomplish over the next 12 months. A little incentive to stay on track. Plus, what can I say, I’m a planner by nature. And sometimes seeing something in print, putting it out there into the universe, helps keep me focused.

So, without further ado, here is a list of 12 things I’d like to accomplish in 2012.

ONE BIG PROJECT A MONTH: I’m trying to give myself realistic timelines to complete the things I need to. Too often I am overly ambitious in my undertakings and I make myself feel bad for not completing projects within a day or two. This year I hope to not be too hard on myself if a project takes longer than I originally thought it should. I will try my best to complete one large project per month. That could be anything from painting and redoing a room to refinishing a piece of furniture or tackling a larger craft project.

TWO SMALL PROJECTS PER WEEK: Mainly to keep the creative juices flowing and to not become stale, I’d like to complete 2 small projects each week. It could be something like a small craft/art project, something graphic design related or even cleaning out and organizing a closet. I want to stay busy doing the things that I love.

FINISH PAINTING: When we moved in our house 2 years ago, every single wall was the same shade of beige. Builder beige is what I like to call it. I’ve since painted a few rooms, like both kids’ bedrooms, the entryway, the craft room, the laundry room and the hallway. I still need to tackle the living room, the kitchen, the hall bathroom, and the master bedroom/bathroom/closet. It’s going to be a challenge, but I feel like I can finally rid myself of the beige and boring by the end of the year. Fingers crossed.

LEARN TO SEW: I must have been a good girl, because Santa brought me exactly what I asked for in the form of a new Brother sewing machine. As of now, it’s still in it’s box, but I am itching to bust it out and start learning how to sew. There are just so many cute and crafty things that I would be able to work on! Good thing that my machine came with an instructional DVD!!

A BLOG A DAY: Honestly, I think this one is going to be the most difficult to stick with. Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day to work and craft and be mommy and wife AND write a blog post. So please bear with me as I try to get myself on a schedule. I’ve written out ideas for posts for the first 6 weeks of this year, so hopefully that will help keep me motivated. I really want to grow this blog into something that is fun and worthwhile and offers others inspiration. It’ll also be a nice little year end treat to look back over the year in blog posts. Some days it may only be a photo or a song that I’m digging, but getting a post up everyday should help me find my blogging groove.

TAKE A VACATION: This one might be a little hard to accomplish as well. Life and work and other obligations just seem to always get in the way. Mark and I haven’t been on a real vacation since our honeymoon almost 8 years ago, and we’ve never taken the kids on more than just a road trip. I don’t expect to take some lavish vacation or anything, but since we’re in Mississippi, a trip to the Gulf Coast or maybe the mountains of Tennessee would be nice and doable.

READ (AT LEAST) 3 BOOKS: I really do love to get lost in a good book, I just don’t do it nearly as often as I want to… or should. Again, keeping it realistic, 3 books shouldn’t be too hard to accomplish in the coming months. Anyone have any suggestions for a good one to start on?

LEARN WEB DESIGN: When I received my BFA in graphic design in 2004, I had focused mainly on print design. I know enough of web design to edit HTML and CSS from a template (like this blog!), but it’s time for me to learn full blown web design. I think it will be both personally and professionally fulfilling.

GO TO THE ZOO: Can I just say that I love the zoo!! Like hard core, could go every weekend, love it! Guess what we did on my first Mother’s Day in 2007… Yep, a trip to the zoo was all I asked for. We’ve taken Laurel a couple more times since then, but unfortunately we didn’t go at all in 2011. That makes me so sad. Spencer’s never even been and I know he would love to see all the animals. This year we WILL be going… maybe more than once. 🙂

TAKE MORE PHOTOS: Digital photography makes it so easy, but why don’t I do it more?? I ask myself this all the time. I have 2 b-e-a-utiful kids that make the best subject matter, but I find that my camera spends more time on the shelf than in my hands. Maybe because it’s big and kinda heavy and not easy to transport. Maybe I’m just lazy. Who knows? But I vow to take more photos this year and capture all the little memories we make as a family. Having a new iPhone has already helped because I always have it. Plus, it takes amazing photos!

PLAY OUTSIDE: As I was making this list I tried to look back over the past year and figure out where all the time went. What was I doing for those 12 months of 2011? I realized that a ton of my time was spent indoors. Working on stuff around the house, working at work, cleaning, etc. So many times Laurel asked me to go play outside with her and too many times I told her “not today.” This year I want to be able to say that I replied with “ok!” more often than not.

BAKE SOMETHING FROM SCRATCH: I really do love to bake, but I’ve never done it the “real” way. This year, whether it’s cookies or a cake, I want to be able to say that I made it from scratch!

So, that’s it. Those are my 2012 goals.
Hopefully I can stick with them and make this year the best it can be.
Leave a Reply

